An Open Letter to People Who Write Open Letters

Because an open letter is the best way for you to tell someone how you feel. You wouldn’t want to tell them you appreciate them in person or anything.

Dear People Who Write Open Letters to Everyone and the People Who Share Them on Facebook,

When I see that you have posted a link on Facebook, I cringe. I know what you are sharing; you are sharing some stupid open letter written by some basic girl who doesn’t really know how to just enjoy what’s right in front of her. I feel the same about you.  I wish you would just appreciate your friends, your mother, your friends’ mothers, your dental hygienist, and your CVS cashier like everyone else – through obnoxious drunk pictures.

But this letter is not to bash you – it is to thank you. Thank you for pointing out that best friends are people you can count on. Thank you for pointing out that your volleyball coach taught you discipline. Thank you for pointing out that your best friend’s mother always dropped her off at your house.

I want to thank you for pointing out the obvious.

I want to thank you for making me feel like I am in a constant deja vu.  All articles on the internet are the same these days – do you guys all use the same template?

But honestly, thank you for not being one of those articles that is titled “So this happened, but you won’t believe what happened next.” Those articles really are the downfall of the internet.

Sincerely,

A Girl Who Reads Your Dumb Articles Anyways

2 comments

  1. riddhiculos · June 1, 2016

    I want to thank you for making me feel like I am in a constant deja vu.  All articles on the internet are the same these days – do you guys all use the same template?

    I loved this

    Like

Leave a Reply

